• 1512_ISTANBUL-DAN_JonathanRadetz_SoundsOfIstanbul_Ambiente_0
  • 1512_ISTANBUL-DAN_JonathanRadetz_SoundsOfIstanbul_Ambiente_02
  • 1512_ISTANBUL-DAN_JonathanRadetz_SoundsOfIstanbul_Ambiente_07
  • 1512_ISTANBUL-DAN_JonathanRadetz_SoundsOfIstanbul_Freisteller_01
  • 1512_ISTANBUL-DAN_JonathanRadetz_SoundsOfIstanbul_Freisteller_06
  • 1512_ISTANBUL-DAN_JonathanRadetz_SoundsOfIstanbul_Freisteller_07

When entering into an unknown city our sens es sharpen: we take a good look around, observe the ado and hear sounds which in a known environment we wouldn‘t acknowledge. Collecting them is like capturing one of the city‘s many tonal facets.
In this work ephemeral sounds are visually retained by way of four light sculptures. The objects‘ abstract outlines, taken from one or more sound sequences which are then trans lated into four smaller segments, result in conventional luminaires. With their abstract, graphic simplicity they offer a significant light atmosphere.

  • 1510_Prozess_Jonathan_Radetz_00
  • 1510_Prozess_Jonathan_Radetz_01
  • 1510_Prozess_Jonathan_Radetz_03
  • 1510_Prozess_Jonathan_Radetz_04
  • 1510_Prozess_Jonathan_Radetz_06
  • 1510_Prozess_Jonathan_Radetz_07

ISTANBUL’DAN

The designers Laura Jungmann, Dorothee Mainka, Pierre Kracht, Jonathan Radetz, Flo- rian Saul and Michael Konstantin Wolke decided to travel to Istanbul to find out more about the city‘s fascinating artisan districts so well known for their crafts. On their trip they hoped to experience the impact this field of work, the city and its traditional production methods and structures can have on the design process and the design itself.
To this day Istanbul‘s artisan districts Şişhane and Galata are filled with a variety of small workshops where every artisan is a specialist for certain materials or processing techniques and crafts. They use simple machines in small spaces and if something is not accessible, their skill for improvising knows no end. Almost anything becomes possible as the individual craftsmen work hand in hand, supporting each other with their special skills as needed.

• 1512_ISTANBUL-DAN_JonathanRadetz_SoundsOfIstanbul_Ambiente_0
  • 1512_ISTANBUL-DAN_JonathanRadetz_SoundsOfIstanbul_Ambiente_02
  • 1512_ISTANBUL-DAN_JonathanRadetz_SoundsOfIstanbul_Ambiente_07
  • 1512_ISTANBUL-DAN_JonathanRadetz_SoundsOfIstanbul_Freisteller_01
  • 1512_ISTANBUL-DAN_JonathanRadetz_SoundsOfIstanbul_Freisteller_06
  • 1512_ISTANBUL-DAN_JonathanRadetz_SoundsOfIstanbul_Freisteller_07

Betreten wir eine unbekannte Stadt, sind unsere Sinne besonders geschärft: wir schauen genau hin, beobachten das Treiben und hören Geräusche, die wir in bekannter Umgebung nicht wahrnehmen. Sie einzufangen bedeutet, eine klangliche Facette der Stadt festzuhalten.
Das vergängliche Geräusch wird bildlich eingefangen. So entstehen vier Lichtskulpturen. Die abstrakte Outline entspricht einer oder mehrerer Tonsequenzen. Davon abgeleitet wurden vier kleinere Segmente, diese dienen als konventionelle Leuchten. Grafisch reduziert bieten sie eine stimmungsvolle Lichtsituation mit Aussagekraft.

  • 1510_Prozess_Jonathan_Radetz_00
  • 1510_Prozess_Jonathan_Radetz_01
  • 1510_Prozess_Jonathan_Radetz_03
  • 1510_Prozess_Jonathan_Radetz_04
  • 1510_Prozess_Jonathan_Radetz_06
  • 1510_Prozess_Jonathan_Radetz_07

ISTANBUL’DAN

Fasziniert von Istanbuls Handwerkervierteln, reisen die Designer Laura Jungmann, Dorothee Mainka, Pierre Kracht, Jonathan Radetz, Florian Saul und Michael Konstantin Wolke nach Istanbul. Gemeinsam wollen sie erleben, welchen Einfluss dieses Arbeitsumfeld, die Stadt und die traditionellen Produktionsstrukturen auf den Entwurfsprozess und den Entwurf selbst haben.
In Istanbuls historischen Handwerkervierteln Şişhane und Galata findet man noch heute eine Vielfalt an kleinen Werkstätten. Jeder Handwerker ist hier Spezialist für bestimmte Materialien oder Bearbeitungstechniken. Mit einfachsten Maschinen und auf kleinstem Raum wird hantiert und nicht Vor­ handenes improvisiert. Durch die starke Vernetzung unter den Handwerkern wird fast alles möglich gemacht.

www.istanbul-dan.de